The Worthy Pain.

IMG_2227

. . .

I have always wanted to get my ears pierced, not one, but three

The first time was 20 years ago. A little outdated, for that I have long forgotten
The taste of this quick pain
But, what joy would that be, living the life pain-free

I walked into the jewelry store, feeling excited and nervous
‘Will this hurt?’ I’ve asked with hesitation
The lady smiled and said ‘Just a tad bit, two pinches and you will forget’

The whole thing took less than 10 seconds
The pain came and gone just like that

I stared at myself in the mirror and smiled
I totally forgot about the pain

While walking out from the store
I started thinking of what happened earlier
If only feelings are that simple
Being able to look at ourselves in the mirror after getting hurt
And loving the scar caused by the worthy pain.

The Worthy Pain.

September 2018 | Bangkok, Thailand.

Leave a comment